Town of Cheraw

Reach Us (843) 537-8400

Stay Informed

State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers Opening in Chesterfield, Dillon and Horry Counties

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The State of South Carolina and FEMA are opening three Disaster Recovery Centers in the cities of Cheraw (Chesterfield County) Dillon (Dillon County) and Conway (Horry County) Tuesday, Oct. 2. Other centers will be opening soon in the areas affected by Hurricane Florence.

The centers offer in-person support to individuals and businesses in the counties included in the South Carolina major disaster declaration for Hurricane Florence and the subsequent floods.

Recovery specialists from the State of South Carolina, FEMA, and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will be at the centers to talk about assistance and help survivors who need help in finding recovery resources. The new centers are at the following locations:

Chesterfield County

Northeast Technical College - Building 200

1201 Chesterfield Highway

Cheraw, SC 29520

Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Dillon County

City of Dillon Wellness Center

1647 Commerce Drive

Dillon, SC 29536

Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Horry County

Horry Georgetown Technical College

2050 US 501

Conway, SC 29526

Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

SBA disaster assistance employees are committed to helping businesses and residents rebuild as quickly as possible. They are available to answer questions about SBA's low-interest disaster loan program and help business owners and residents apply to the SBA.

The centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology equipment allowing disaster survivors to use amplified telephones, phones that display text, amplified listening devices for people with hearing loss, and magnifiers for people with vision loss. Recovery information is available in Braille. Video Remote Interpreting is available and in-person sign language is available by request. The centers also have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms.

Homeowners, renters and businesses can also check their eligibility for federal, state and voluntary agency disaster assistance available by:

· Visiting;

· Calling 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585); or

· Using the FEMA app, available for Apple and Android mobile devices


The following information is helpful when registering:

· Address of the location where the damage occurred (pre-disaster address)

· Current mailing address

· Current telephone number

· Insurance information

· Total household annual income

· Routing and account number for checking or savings account (this allows direct transfer of funds into a bank account)

· A description of disaster-caused damage and losses

Disaster survivors can visit any center for assistance. Visit to view other locations.

South Carolina homeowners, renters and business owners in Chesterfield, Dillon, Georgetown, Horry, Marion and Marlboro counties may apply for disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from Hurricane Florence.

For more information on Hurricane Florence and South Carolina recovery, visit the South Carolina Emergency Management Division website at, on social media (@SCEMD on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram), or FEMA's Hurricane Florence disaster webpage at, or Facebook at, and the FEMA Region 4 Twitter account at

Tags: In The News Community

Back to News   Share with a Friend